I Read: Bossypants

The two books I read in late spring/early summer were both great books, but both were very sad/deep books, so I was looking for something a little lighter.  A friend recommended Bossypants by Tina Fey to me and I figured, why not?  I’ll give it a go.

This book was a very fast read that I pretty much only read on the commute to and from work.  The chapters, generally, are short, which makes for a great commute book and her writing is very conversational.  There were several bits or stories that made me laugh out loud…and laugh hard.  To be completely honest, this NEVER happens.  I just don’t normally think things are all that funny.  Tina Fey, however? Funny.

Probably my favorite quote from the entire book (she asked women when they first realized they were becoming a woman):

“Almost everyone first realized they were becoming a grown woman when some dude did something nasty to them…There were pretty much zero examples like ‘I first knew I was a woman when my mother and father took me out to dinner to celebrate my success on the debate team.’ It was mostly men yelling shit from cars. Are they a patrol sent out to let girls know they’ve crossed into puberty? If so, it’s working…I was walking home alone from school and I was wearing a dress. A dude drove by and yelled ‘Nice tits.’ Embarrassed and enraged, I screamed after him ‘Suck my dick!’ Sure, it didn’t make any sense, but at least I didn’t hold in my anger.”

She is definitely self deprecating through out this book, though I don’t think it’s in a serious way.  (Is she ever serious?)  Through the entire book , there is an underlying feminist theme.  She’s definitely a believer that women are just as smart and talented, if not more so, as any man and can do all the same things.  She makes a really interesting comparison between Sarah Palin and Hillary Clinton.  While they were campaigning against each other, they were essentially being discounted because of their sex.  Sarah was a helpless idiot and Hillary was a bitch.  Both things were derived from the things they did and said on the campaign that were very similar to things the men of the campaign said and did, but no one ever turned it against them as being emotional or cold.  Her entire perception of Sarah Palin and the sketches they did on SNL was really interesting.

I definitely recommend this book.  Her sarcastic humor is very much like mine and, in my mind, we could be best friends.  If you’re looking for something light, you should definitely read this book.

Leave a Reply

