I Bake: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Last weekend was our first weekend in our new apartment and after spending all day Saturday unpacking miscellaneous boxes, I really had the urge to make Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I’m not sure what it was.  Maybe it was that my mom used to make them, seemingly, every Sunday, so they make it feel like home.  Maybe it was just that I wanted the smell of something homemade in the apartment.  Either way, while the hubs spent hours playing video games, I ran to the store and got all the goods I needed to make cookies.  I might have eaten a little dough in the process too!

image

I’m not really sure where this recipe came from.  My mom has been making it as long as I can remember and it’s really, really good.  Give it a go.  Let me know what you think!

Put 2 sticks of butter in a mixing bowl and let them soften.
Add 1 cup of crisco (they sell 1 cup packages in sets of 3).
Mix.
Add 1.5 cups brown sugar, 1.5 cups white sugar, 1 Tbsp vanilla.
Mix until smooth.
Add 4 eggs, mixing after each.
Add 1.25 tsp baking soda & 1 tsp salt.
Mix.
Add 4.5 cups of flour mixing after each cup. I usually mix by hand after 4 cups because my mixer just can’t handle the thickness. You can add a little extra flour if needed.
Fold in 1 bag of chocolate chips or M&Ms.
Add nuts as desired.
Bake at 350 for about 11-12 minutes.
(Makes a ton!)

1 comment

Leave a Reply

