Pumpkin Spice Chai Latte

So people are always raving about Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte.  I don’t enjoy coffee, but I do enjoy me a Chai Latte from time to time.  Feeling a little left out of the fall pumpkin goodness, I had the genius idea of asking if they could add the pumpkin to my Chai Latte.  Sounds amazing, right?

http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=43169652

I got a tall just to be sure I’d like it.  To be honest, I barely drank it.  I love Chai and people seem to love pumpkin, but together it just did not work for me.  First, I couldn’t really even taste the actual pumpkin flavor.  Second, it was really, really sweet!  The Chai Latte is a little sweet on its own and apparently, the pumpkin is also sweet.  Together, it was sweetness overload.

Now that all is said and done, I think I will stick to my tried and true Chai Latte and leave the Pumpkin to the coffee/latte drinkers out there.  In theory, it sounded so amazing, but in practice, it just wasn’t.  So bummed, in my mind it was going to be so awesome!

3 comments
  1. Terri said:

    i was just thinking about combining the two because surely, awesome + awesome = totally awesome. thanks for warning me what a gross failure it was.

  2. Melissa said:

    Don’t get me wrong. It wasn’t gross, it was just way too sweet for my liking.

  3. They have pumpkin chai spice mix at Trader Joe’s and its DELICIOUS. You just add it to water and mix. I think Starbuck’s just makes their Chai too sweet, so it’s hard to add flavors to it. Don’t give up :)

Leave a Reply

