The Oscars: My Favorites

It seems there were a few trends at the Oscars this year and thankfully one of them was not the Angelina Jolie leg thing.  Seems there were a lot of black beaded/sequined gowns.  There was also a lot of white. All in all, the Oscars and the Golden Globes were probably my two favorite fashion nights of awards season.  For the most part everyone looked so pretty and there wasn’t a single dress that made me wonder if someone had fired their stylist. Here, in the order that I saw them, are my favorites:

Naomi Watts in Armani Prive was probably my favorite look of the night. The dress looked so pretty on her and its asymmetrical neck line was gorg. She said she worked with Armani to design this, which leaves me wishing she’d put out a clothing line or something. The woman looked incredible.

Naomi Watts Oscars 2013

Jessica Chastain looked pretty amazing in Armani Prive. It seems she was most peoples’ favorite. The combination of her hair color, skin tone and the shade of her dress worked so perfectly together. She looked like a bombshell.

Jessica Chastain Oscars 2013

Charlize Theron did not have one of my favorite dresses of the night – this Dior Haute Couture (although it is growing on me), but the woman left me drooling on my couch. She has an absolutely stunning face – she’s always been a girl crush of mine, but that hair cut. I love it! I have been contemplating chopping my hair and donating it and I’ve been wondering how short I should go. I now feel like if I get that hair cut, I will look like her (in my dreams, right?). I know her hair is this sort for a role she played, but dang girl. She looks absolutely beautiful.

Charlize Theron Oscars 2013

Another one of my girl crushes is Jennifer Garner. She seems so nice and so down to earth. She spends a lot of time with her children and is making a marriage work in Hollywood (watch Ben Afleck’s Oscars speech if you haven’t). This plum colored Gucci gown looked so good on her and the shape of the dress (minus the poof of ruffles on the back) is my favorite dress shape. So good.

Jennifer Garner Oscars 2013

Sandra Bullock looked really nice in a beaded Elie Saab gown. She looks very classic.

Sandra Bullock Oscars 2013

Halle Berry looked like an Art Deco goddess. This dress makes her look so tall and slender (which I’m sure she really is and it’s not just the dress). The woman is gorgeous and this Atelier Versace dress just accentuates that.

halle berry oscars 2013

Next we have Stacy Keibler in another black and metallic beaded gown. So many of this family of dresses at the Oscars, but clearly I loved them. This dress by Naeem Kahn really accentuates her body and makes her look stunning.

Stacy Keibler Oscars 2013

Finally, Nicole Kidman in another black beaded/sequin gown. This L’Wren Scott gown looks really great on her tall, slender bod. I’m not completely sure how I feel about the gold spirals, but I think they’re growing on me. Also, is that a Batman logo on her stomach? Even if it is, she pulls it off.

Nicole Kidman Oscars 2013

Also, did Salma Hayek’s dress remind anyone else of Kate Hudson’s Golden Globe dress from earlier this year? Check it out. They’re both Alexander McQueen, so I guess it’s not that surprising.

Salma Hayek Kate Hudson

 

Leave a Reply

