I Donate: My Hair

For quite some time now, I’ve wanted to donate my hair. It is something that has been weighing on my heart and when I saw a link to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths page on Facebook, I took the time to do research on different organizations. I had never really thought about where I’d want to donate my hair and had really only heard of Locks of Love. What I found out was really interesting and it’s something that I don’t think a lot of people know, so I wanted to share.

Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths:
Creates wigs for women with cancer
Gives wigs away for free
Requires a minimum 8″ donation of hair

Locks of Love:
Creates wigs/hair pieces/prosthetics for children under 21 suffering from permanent hair loss, primarily from alopecia
Sells wigs on a sliding scale based on financial need
Requires a minimum of 10″ of hair
Sells some of the hair they receive to offset manufacturing costs

Based on these things, I decided Beautiful Lengths was the way I wanted to go. As an organization, they give me a more warm and fuzzy feeling and I like that they give wigs FOR FREE to women with cancer.

So, I went into the salon I’ve been going to since moving to Chicago (FM Hair Studio) armed with some celebrity hair inspiration (via Pinterest, of course):
20130331-230802.jpg

This is how ridiculously long my hair was and my girl, Madeline, prepping to cut it:
20130331-230834.jpg

One last measurement just to check the length and then the cutting begins! They used clippers, which are apparently easier than scissors, so here I am with half really long hair and half shoulder length hair. And then here’s everything in the bag – the hair’s all gone!
20130331-230849.jpg

Cutting, blow drying, styling…
20130331-230904.jpg

And here’s the quick story:
I had super long hair, it’s now short and can be straight or curled. See, look, here’s the hair I’m donating.
20130331-230920.jpg

I’m so happy to be donating my hair to this great organization and I cannot wait to do it again in a few years!

2 comments
  1. I LOVE the new cut!!! I just did a similar hacking with my hair — I chopped off about 12 inches — but sadly my hair is undonateable due to the dye (which hides the more than 5% grey which would also disqualify it). Hope you’re enjoying the new cut. It looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

