Fun in Chicago: Randolph St. Market

Since moving to Chicago, I’ve heard talk of this magical place called the Randolph Street Market. It’s common that 20-somethings here frequent street festivals filled with art and vendors selling things, but people mostly go just to drink their faces off. Turns out Randolph Street Market is not one of these street festivals, but actually a place where vendors all come together to sell lots of super cool items. It’s a combination of jewelry, furniture, vintage, new, art, etc. and it only happens once a month. A couple weeks ago, a friend of mine was going and asked if I wanted to join. The hubs was out of town at a bachelor party and I needed things to do to get me off the couch, so I jumped at the invitation and I am SO glad I did.

We spent a few hours working our way up and down the aisles of goodies in each of the booths. Some were amazing and some were amazingly fun to joke about. One of the very first booths we visited had this pretty gold Trifari bracelet (I may or may not have a weakness for bracelets…) which I bought promptly. We later checked out a shop that had pretty much nothing except this super cool old bottle case which I thought would be a fun decoration somewhere in our apt. Finally, right at the very end of our exploration, I came across this amazing old pitcher (which I will probably use as a vase). It looks very Mad Men to me and I instantly loved it.

20130805-233905.jpg

Pretty cool find, in my opinion. There were so many other things there that I would have loved to come home with.

20130805-233914.jpg

I can’t wait to go back again and see what treasures I can find! Surely I’ll buy things I don’t need just because they’re pretty.

Leave a Reply

