I Cook: Breakfast

For Mother’s Day, the hubs and I took a trip down to Houston to visit my parents and while we were there, we stopped by my parents’ neighborhood party one afternoon. My mom had these black bean burgers that she said I just had to try, so I did. Holy cow were they good. So, what did I do? I came home and bought them immediately, but rather than eat them as an actual burger, which I do rarely, I was inspired by my old roommate. She would make veggie burgers at night for dinner and put them on a salad or eat them with something else. I decided this black bean burger would make for a ridiculously good breakfast.

20130903-001241.jpg

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I was totally right. Here’s what I’ve been eating for breakfast on the weekends since we went to Houston. It’s SUPER easy. You just need:

Morningstar Farms Black Bean Burgers
Eggs
Trader Joe’s Original Salsa (my favorite salsa)

20130903-001229.jpg

I just prepare the burger in a frying pan as it directs on the box, then in the same pan, with the burger set aside, I make myself some fluffy scrambled eggs. I’m sure it would be good with an over easy egg too. Then I pour on as much salsa as looks good. It’s really quick and easy to make and makes for SUCH a good breakfast! Try it out, you’ll like it, really.

20130903-001236.jpg

What’s your favorite homemade breakfast?

Leave a Reply

