I Cook: Mushroom Risotto

A few years ago, I decided to try to break out of my rut of cooking the same few dishes all the time – just to switch things up – and find more recipes to include in our dinner menu options. I think we were pretty successful – we now make anything from Pasta with sausage and veggies in it with garlic bread to Chicken Chili Rellenos to Chili to Honey Glazed Chicken Stir Fry.

Earlier this year, I was trying to think of more things I enjoy eating that we might want to add to our repertoire and I thought of things like Jambalaya, Risotto & Paella (are you picking up on the rice theme?). I looked up some recipes on Pinterest and came across this recipe for Mushroom Risotto that looked sooooo good!

20130929-221213.jpg
I was a little worried about how laborious the process of making risotto would be, but it really wasn’t hard – you just have to pay it constant attention. I snapped a few pics along the way of cooking my mushrooms and my Arborio rice (lots of white wine and lots of stirring) and then the process of putting it all together.

20130929-221220.jpg
Doesn’t it look yummy?! Honestly, it was surprisingly easy.

20130929-221226.jpg

I was a little worried about this when I set out to make it because I really wasn’t sure how the hubs would receive mushrooms or risotto. I think he was a bit iffy, but once he took a bite, it was all over. We didn’t even have left overs for lunch the next day – he ate it all! This is definitely something we will make again.

What’s your favorite dinner recipe to make? Send it my way!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

