20 Weeks

20 Weeks

We are officially halfway to 40 weeks! It’s going to be here before we know it!

We had a pretty eventful week this week! And in a good way. On Tuesday night, I went to something called Bump Club, where I listed to a talk about Sleep Strategies and Sleep Safety, which was super interesting. At the end of the night, I was sent home with a goody bag with tons of stuff in it (2 swaddles, 2 bottles, a burp cloth, a pacifier, samples of a bunch of things, 2 books, etc) – pretty great if you ask me! I also won a stroller and a car seat in the raffle at the end of the night! So crazy and so amazing!

On Wednesday night I had my first pre-natal massage. Kind of weird, but definitely enjoyable. I certainly wouldn’t turn one down.

Then, on Friday, we had our 20 week ultrasound and appointment. I was really nervous about this appointment given we hadn’t really had any screening done prior to now. Everything looked great and we got some pictures too!


Here’s a profile we got to see during the ultrasound. Mini Mitch weighed in at 34% for weight, but its limbs were long, so it seems like this kid is definitely ours. The baby was in a really good position for all the pictures that needed to be taken and the ultrasound tech kept saying how chill the baby was throughout the whole thing. It was nice that I didn’t have to get into any weird positions or get up and move around for her to get what she needed.


This is one of the cooler pictures I thought we got. I love that you can see the pelvis, spine, ribs, brain and even a little ear. If you look closely you can even see all the little vertebrae. It’s amazing how well developed everything already is at the halfway point!


Eventually this little one woke up and started to move around more. It looked like it was enjoying a little morning yoga holding its foot above its head with its hand. You can see the other little foot up above the belly.

We chose not to find out the gender, which turned out to be just fine since Mini Mitch was not in the mood to reveal all. There still isn’t a person in the world who knows the gender of this kid. Guess we’ll all just have to wait and see!

How far along? 20 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +7.4 lbs
Maternity clothes? I wore a pair of maternity jeans for the first time this week and they worked out just fine. Other than that, still sticking to my regular clothes.
Stretch marks? Nope
Sleep? Still sleeping just fine.
Best moment this week? I had a pretty eventful week this week, but the best thing was probably the 20 week appointment and seeing the baby via ultrasound. It was so nice to see and hear that everything looks “fantastic.” It definitely helped to calm my nerves a bit.
Miss Anything?
Nope.
Movement? Turns out what I’ve been feeling truly has been food digesting and not the baby. My placenta is in front of the baby, so that is acting as the punching bag for the time being, keeping me from feeling any movement just yet. Hopefully soon, once this little one is a little bigger.
Food cravings? I kind of want a cupcake, but I haven’t acted on it. I’m not considering it a craving until I just HAVE to run out and get it.
Anything making you nauseous? Nope.
Symptoms?  
Heartburn. Every day. Every time I eat or am hungry. I did take Tums for the first time in my life this week. It helped, I think. Oh, I also half remember leg cramps a couple of times this week. Not enough to fully wake me up or even remember first thing in the morning, but I’m pretty sure they happened. Calf cramps. Twice.
Gender Prediction? Still don’t have one, but Chris and mom think it’s a boy.
Labor Signs? None.
Belly Button in or out? In
Wedding rings on or off? On
Mood? Pretty even keel.
Looking forward to? I’m ready to start planning things.

2 comments
  1. Jill said:

    Congrats, Melissa! So happy for you. You look great!

    • Melissa said:

      Thank you, Jill! Congrats to you guys too!!

Leave a Reply

