22 Weeks

22 weeks

The baby should weigh about a pound this week. Our little one is probably a little less than that, since it weighed in on the smaller side at our ultrasound, but who knows!

This was a pretty normal week around here. We worked, worked out, came home, made dinner, did dishes, got ready for bed, got some sleep, got up and repeated about 5 times.

Since I don’t have much to report, I’m going to keep it short and sweet and move along to my questions!

How far along? 22 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +10.6 lbs, just packing it on here lately
Maternity clothes? Same as last week – rocking the maternity jeans, sticking with my non-maternity shirts and still wearing the dresses I can in my closet. My wardrobe is definitely thinning out and forget about skirts.
Stretch marks? Still none yet.
Sleep? Still sleeping just fine. I did wake up in the middle of the night once this week though with my first charley horse. Oh man did it feel like it was never going to end. My calf was sore for a few days after. Oh, and if you’ve never looked up the history of the term charley horse, look it up, it’s interesting.
Best moment this week? My grandparents were in town this weekend for their first visit since we moved here. It was nice to show them around a little bit, spend some time with them and get some Chicago pizza with them!
Miss Anything?
Nope – I do need to start missing sugary snacks a little more…
Movement? This week I’m starting to think what I’m feeling has to be baby. I’m not feeling it a lot, but it seems to be around the same times (though I do eat at the same times every day) and I’m thinking it’s too low to be my stomach.
Food cravings? None
Anything making you nauseous? Nope
Symptoms?  
The charley horse is definitely a new one. Still some heart burn, but it seems to be letting up a bit (I think I’ve narrowed this down mostly to tomatoes). Also some round ligament pain (or pulling near my hips).
Gender Prediction? Our nephew says its a boy and one of our nieces says it’s a girl.
Labor Signs? Nope
Belly Button in or out? In
Wedding rings on or off? On
Mood? Even keel
Looking forward to? Really digging in and getting moving on all things baby. Taking a Bradley Method (natural child birth, father coached, class), putting a registry together, getting some things for the bedroom, etc. Also, fall football and fall baking!
Now some words from Dad: Today’s entry will be more of a reflection of a story I told somebody earlier this week. My sophomore year in high school I had an English teacher named Mr. Deines. Two distinct happenings from his class have stuck with me throughout the years. The first, which has nothing to do with this blog, was when he caught one of his top students reading Cliff Notes of “Catcher in the Rye” in class. He promptly scolded her while ripping up the Cliff Notes book in front of the class, which was both terrifying and amazing at the same time. The second memory I have of Mr. Deines is from when the topic of beauty came up in class. He told the class that “the most beautiful women in the world” are pregnant women. Of course, as 15 and 16-year-olds we all replied “Eww!” and “that’s so weird.” But now, 15 years later, I can say that A) I actually see where Mr. Deines was coming from and B) I kind of agree with him! Amid all of the celebrities, models and People Magazine telling us how we should define beauty, I find myself having a hard time not looking at a pregnant women and thinking “that’s a beautiful sight.” Even though I know that being pregnant may not be the most glamorous of occasions, it’s something that women, if lucky, are able to experience only a few times over the course of their lives. It’s a deeply special occasion, seeing a woman being strong, bringing a new person into the world. Seeing Melissa, and all the other moms that are going through this special time in their lives, it’s a blessing to be able to witness the beauty of a pregnancy. It’s the opposite of the sometimes vain and narcissistic society of celebrity we live in – and it always makes me smile.

2 comments
  1. Bonnie B said:

    Mini Mitchell is really showing now! Love it

Leave a Reply

