24 Weeks

This week was absolutely action packed and lots of fun. We ended our time in Rome, then headed to Cinque Terre, which is unlike anywhere I have ever been. It looks a little bit like Greece, but isn’t all white. The 5 villages there are so pretty and so unique! Also, the food was great!


The coast line in Monterosso where we stayed.


The town of Riomaggiore.


The town of Manarola.


The town of Corniglia, where we stopped for lunch along our trek at Caffe Matteo. Definitely recommended.


Hiking into Vernazza from Corniglia. You can also see Monterosso in the distance.


The view of Vernazza from the other side of the village.


Hiking down into Monterosso, the largest of the five villages. I think we had the best meal of our trip here at a restaurant called Miky. You need a reservation and we definitely recommend it.


Sunset after dinner in Monterosso, the night before we left for Florence – it was so pretty!

After Cinque Terre we moved on to Florence where we ate, saw some art, ate some more, saw some more art, ate again…


#chrisjumping with Florence in the background!


The Duomo in Florence. So pretty and absolutely nothing like I expected it to look. I’ve never seen another building like it! We climbed the stairs all the way up to the top of the dome. That picture is a couple down.


We saw the David while in Florence. I had no idea it was David of David and Goliath. I learned a lot on this trip!


The view of Florence from the top of the Dome of the Duomo.

From Florence we headed up to a town called Correggio where we attended a friend’s wedding. The wedding was so pretty and we were so happy to be there!

We ended our trip with a 20 hour travel day and made it home just in time to go to bed at an early, but acceptable time.

24-weeks

How far along? 24 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +13.4 lbs – only put on 3 lbs while in Italy! I consider that a success!
Maternity clothes? Still the same. Maternity jeans, regular shirts and dresses
Stretch marks? Nope
Sleep? Still sleeping fine. I’ve noticed that it is naturally less comfortable to sleep on my back nowadays, which is how I normally sleep, so I’ve moved to sleeping almost entirely on my side
Best moment this week? This is a tough one! Probably our exploration of Cinque Terre – it was definitely my favorite of the places we visited in Italy.
Miss Anything? I missed fruits and veggies this week. So. Much. Pasta.
Movement? Definitely lots of kicking, which I’m loving. It’s so enchanting to feel this child move inside of me. It draws my hand to my stomach every time. I want to feel every move.
Food cravings? Nope
Anything making you nauseous? Nope
Symptoms? Holding strong with the heartburn, but the biggest thing this week was the round ligament pain. It’s supposed to be a quick, stabby pain. Well, it’s stabby, but it has been pretty constant and even woke me up one night. It has been pretty painful and nothing helps it! I imagine if I had a hernia, this is how it would feel. I’m hoping like most of my other symptoms that it only lasts a couple weeks. I also had some swelling in my feet and hands this week, but I think that can truly be attributed to walking 10 miles a day and 95 degree heat.
Gender Prediction? Still no feelings one way or another, but starting to wonder a bit more.
Labor Signs? Nope
Belly Button in or out? In, but it’s getting more shallow.
Wedding rings on or off? On
Mood? Exhausted. This week completely wore me out! I definitely feel like I got winded more easily while hiking and was more exhausted from the heat every day.
Looking forward to? I have a dinner this week for something called Bump Club where they have experts come talk to you about a certain subject. This month the topic is breastfeeding when you come home from the hospital. Should be interesting! I also have my 24 week appointment, so I’m looking forward to two things. :)
Now some words from Dad:  Hi Everyone! Wow, what a week it’s been. Italy was a ton of fun, and Melissa was a trooper the whole trip, but it’s also nice to be home. 24 weeks is a milestone Melissa and I both marked down in our heads, because it happens to be the week in which the baby is considered viable. This means that if the baby were born at any point now, it has a better than 50% survival rate. THAT SAID, we’re hoping the baby enjoys its temporarily home and decides to stay for the full term of his or her 40 week lease agreement :)

Now on the lighter side, I want to share a story. The other morning, Melissa was laying next to me and went to get out of bed. As she was getting up, she yellow “Ow!” then gave me a temporary stink-eye as if I had done something to her. I said “What? Are you OK?” to which she replied, “Yeah, why did you just poke me?”
I didn’t. Someone was kicking her. 😂
Leave a Reply

