27 Weeks

This is the last week of my second trimester, which is totally crazy. Now that we’re into October, I’m sure time is going to completely fly by and Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years will be here before we know it!

Chris and I both had colds this week. He must have picked his up in New York and brought it home. Luckily, whether I had the same cold as him or a different one, mine wasn’t nearly as severe…that or he’s more of a baby than I am (don’t tell him I said that).

27weeks2

How far along? 27 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +14.4 lbs
Maternity clothes? Not much has changed here. Non-maternity tops are starting to get tighter, but are still fitting.
Stretch marks? Still none.
Sleep? Been waking up briefly between 4 and 4:30, but I fall right back asleep and have been sleeping fine!
Best moment this week? We had a pretty quiet week because of our colds. I was trying to take care of Chris a bit without getting sick myself and I successfully staved it off for the first half of the week. It feels pretty good to have our registry mostly complete and get some tours set up with with daycares. Just trying to tcb.
Miss Anything? Sometimes I miss laying on my stomach.
Movement? We’ve been a little more quiet on the movement front this week. Maybe we’re sleeping more because we’re going through a growth spurt? Movement is definitely still happening, just being a little more quiet.
Food cravings? No real cravings to speak of.
Anything making you nauseous? Nada.
Symptoms? My back has been starting to get sore throughout the day, which is in addition to the heart burn and pain in my side, but honestly, it really isn’t terrible. I’d do it again.
Gender Prediction? No strong feelings still!
Labor Signs? None.
Belly Button in or out? Still in and still shallow.
Wedding rings on or off? On and normal.
Mood? No particular mood one way or another than I can remember from this week.
Looking forward to? There are a lot of things this coming week that I’m looking forward to – our tours with daycares, watching Chris run the marathon next Sunday, and a Bump Club dinner for expecting parents to cover Labor and Delivery.
Now some words from Dad: Hi everyone! Third trimester here we come! This week has been pretty decent. I’m still coughing, and ended up working from home for a few days this week, but on those days I made sure I incessantly cleaned after myself like a germaphobe in hopes of not giving Melissa what I had (wiping down door handles, etc.), and I think it worked! Melissa is a little stuffed up, but no sore throat/101˚F fever, so I think we’re in the clear. This week, I’m super curious to see how daycare visits go. Daycare will be a new venture for me, having grown up with a stay-at-home mom. I’m pretty jazzed to learn about all of the different policies, perks and advantages of each daycare. I was definitely naive when it comes to childcare a few weeks ago… I thought of the basics (socialization, food, naps, etc.) when contemplating daycare, but did not think how in depth they go into learning, which excites me. One of the places we’re visiting offers early Spanish lessons as well as yoga. YOGA! Toddler downward dog might be a little excessive, but hey – when most daycares in major cities cost about as much as renting an apartment, they better offer something special. I have my fingers crossed we can find a nice daycare for mini Mitch to be safe and get his or her creative/intellectual juices flowing. Until next week – have a good one, y’all!

Leave a Reply

