28 Weeks

I can’t believe it – this week marks the official start of my third trimester. The next three months are going to fly by and before we know it, it’s going to be 2017!

We had a pretty busy week this week! We went and toured a couple of daycares. I think we’re pretty set on which one we’re going to go with, which is nice, just need to get it taken care of. I also had another Bump Club dinner. This one was about Labor and Delivery. It wasn’t my favorite of the three I’ve been to, but it was definitely informative and I met some nice girls who are all due around the same time I am.

We also went to the UT bar to watch the UT/OU game yesterday. We didn’t win, but it was still fun to hang out, see some friends, and cheer for the good guys.

I can definitely tell that I’m growing more and more every week.

28weeks

How far along? 28 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +16 lbs
Maternity clothes? Same as last week. Still in non-maternity and some maternity tops and maternity jeans. I did go through my closet this week and take out a bunch of things that definitely don’t fit and I probably won’t want to wear until it starts to get warmer next year.
Stretch marks? Still none. Keeping my fingers crossed that it stays this way!
Sleep? This week was a little harder. I’m still a really good sleeper, but I have been waking up with this pain in my side and haven’t been able to get comfortable, no matter the position. One night this week I actually got up and paced our room and hallway, because standing/walking feels the best and I just couldn’t get comfortable in bed. After a little bit, I got back in bed and tried to prop myself up with pillows so I was almost sitting to see if that would help. It didn’t. I also had a charley horse or two this week. All in all, I’m still feeling well rested, just experiencing a few more interruptions.
Best moment this week? Best moment this week was cheering Chris on with his family and some of our friends and seeing him finish his first marathon in great time, even with not being able to run much the last two weeks because he had a pretty terrible cold. I’m super proud of him and it was great to see him achieve something a lot of us will probably never do.
Miss Anything? Not missing anything in particular this week.
Movement? Feeling a fair amount of movement. My thing lately has been to try to figure out what position I think the baby is in, so I’ll poke around my stomach a little bit and a few times I’ve found a little food, accidentally poked it and it’ll jerk away quickly, not to be found again. So funny. This child is probably rolling its eyes being like, seriously…please leave me alone.
Food cravings? Still no cravings. I’m maybe having the opposite of cravings where I just cannot figure out what I want to eat/what sounds good, so I’ll hem and haw until I’m so hungry that absolutely nothing sounds good. It’s awesome…
Anything making you nauseous? No nausea.
Symptoms? Still round ligament/scar tissue pain, along with the heartburn and now the slight back pain at the end of the day. I think my back is just tired.
Gender Prediction? I keep wanting to call it a he, but I think it’s just that I want to stop calling it “it.” I don’t think saying “he” means I think it’s a boy. My mom definitely thinks its a boy.
Labor Signs? Nope – thankfully.
Belly Button in or out? Getting more and more shallow all the time.
Wedding rings on or off? On.
Mood? Same as I have been – no particular mood. Pretty normal.
Looking forward to? We have my 28 week appointment and gestational diabetes screening this week. Always looking forward to the Dr. appointments, though now that I’m in my third trimester, we have to step it up and I’ll start going every two weeks instead of every four. Also looking forward to getting the daycare situation all settled. Hopefully this week! Next on the list is trying to find a Pediatrician for Mini Mitch. Lots to do!
Now some words from Dad: Hi Everyone! It’s been quite the week for the fam. Touring daycares was a fun learning experience. I think my tips for anyone looking for a daycare would be to ask lots of questions, see what kind of experience fits within your lifestyle, and pick the place where you feel the most comfortable having your child spend time during the week. On a personal level, I feel like tonight I can write answers to all of Melissa’s normal topics above after the marathon. It was an AWESOME experience, made all the better by the support of family and friends. I think I just gave myself a great idea. Maybe next week, DAD will fill out the top part of the blog and mom will write my section :D :D :D!

Leave a Reply

