30 Weeks

30weeks

We had a pretty uneventful week this week, so we’re just going to get right into it!

How far along? 30 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +16.2 lbs; When I’ve had a week when I’ve eaten well or a week when I’ve eaten more junky than normal, I can definitely see that reflected in my weight.
Maternity clothes? I’ve gone ahead and mostly tried to make the switch to maternity clothes. Not because my regular shirts aren’t fitting anymore, but because I figure I’m going to get to that point, so I might as well get a few months use out of the maternity clothes I’m buying. I’m definitely keeping a small, very neutral maternity wardrobe and mixing it up with sweaters and accessories I already had.
Stretch marks? No, and fingers crossed it stays that way!! I’m getting nervous that I’m just going to wake up one day and this will have changed.
Sleep? I’ve been sleeping through the night most nights – not waking up to go to the bathroom or anything. If anything I’ll wake up to turn from one side to the other and then enjoy some movement from Mini Mitch. How would you like being turned upside down in the middle of the night??
Best moment this week? We ordered a couple things from Pottery Barn Kids over Labor Day weekend (while we were in Italy), because they were doing 25% off and free shipping. Somehow the discount didn’t apply when I actually made the purchase, so I asked my mom to call for us since we were going to be out of town for another week. She did and they assured her it would be applied. It was not. We had to wait until we were invoiced for everything (we may or may not have ordered some furniture and just gotten charged for a piece this week), and we were finally invoiced for the final item this week. Chris made the call about the discount and they’re applying it, finally. It’s so nice to have that settled and be getting that money back.

Unrelated to that, I had something due at work this week that I put a lot of time and thought into, which was recognized and acknowledged. It was a nice feeling. :)
Miss Anything? Still not really missing anything. We’re making the transition to fall clothes, so new clothes/fashions are coming out that we haven’t worn in months. Well, I guess that makes me realize the sun is setting earlier and I’m missing walking home while it’s still light out.
Movement? It feels like Mini Mitch is really gathering strength here lately. I’m feeling lots of movements and a couple have been a little uncomfortable. This morning I was running errands and while walking through Target, it was like there was an elbow trying to push through my belly button. That said, I’m really enjoying all the movement and trying to figure out what I’m feeling. I can definitely see how I’ll miss it once the baby is born.
Food cravings? Still having the opposite of food cravings – can’t decide what I want to eat. It’s kind of frustrating for Chris. It’s just that nothing is exciting me.
Anything making you nauseous? No nausea.
Symptoms? Still having heart burn and reflux. Have you ever had heart burn so bad you can feel it in the back of your neck. It’s really strange, let me tell you. I’ve also started to get a sore back at the end of the day or when I’ve been sitting for too long – I’d say that’s my newest development. Oh, and the pain in my right side is still there, though much less intense than it was a couple weeks ago. In addition to that, I’m now feeling some sensitivity in my right ribs. Something’s pushing up on them; Luckily, I haven’t felt any actual kicking there just yet.
Gender Prediction? Still not having any feelings one way or the other. I keep wanting to default to “he” just so I have a pronoun to use, but that’s simply out of a desire to stop saying “it.” Also, given the fact that we’re having a harder time with some boy specific things (name, circumcision, etc), I feel like it’s bound to be a boy.
Belly Button in or out? Holding strong at shallow, but in.
Wedding rings on or off? Still on.
Mood? Pretty solid this week. Not feeling exceptionally emotional in any direction.
Looking forward to? We have our 30 week appointment this week. The appointments are always nice just to hear what’s going on. We’re also taking a baby food making class this week, which should be fun. It may be a bit early, but I figured it’s probably better to do pre-baby than try to figure out child care for us both to do it once baby’s closer to eating foods other than milk.
Now some words from Dad: SUP Y’ALL?! Daddy Mitch here. This week has been another swell week of expecting. I’m really soaking it all in and trying to enjoy every moment of it. One day I was sitting at our desk at home doing a little work. Melissa had recently washed a bunch of the hand-me-down little onesies and burp clothes, then stacked and folded them on the desk. Just looking at the little onesies made me excited for the arrival of our little one. I know it’s going to be extreme exhaustion, sleepless nights and lots of new challenges, but I’m so ready.

A lot of guys I’ve talked to have told me things like “you’re never really ready to be a parent” or “nothing will be the same!” When we started this journey, I may have felt that way. But after the past 4+ years of our hurdles achieving and sustaining a pregnancy, I’m so ready to be a dad. So I guess my message this weekend is for anybody out there who is struggling to achieve pregnancy. Stay patient, and keep your head up, because through the trials and tribulations, if nothing else you’ll gain perspective. You’ll grow as a person, learn A TON, and maybe like me it’ll shift some of your personal values in a positive direction. You’ll probably grow closer to your partner than ever before. We both feel so fortunate and blessed to have been able to achieve pregnancy and are only ~10 weeks from welcoming our child into the world. I know that as long as Melissa’s labor ends with a healthy mom and healthy baby, it’ll without a doubt be the best day of my life.

So keep your head up. It’s like what Brian said in Vanilla Sky: “Just remember, the sweet is never as sweet without the sour.”

Leave a Reply

