31 Weeks

We had a fairly eventful week this week even though I feel like I just worked a lot. We had our 30 week appointment where we met another midwife in the practice we go to. She has been a midwife for ~20 years and was super spunky. I really liked her. We also went to a baby food making class that was co-taught by a chef and a nutritionist. It was super interesting and I really enjoyed listening to the nutritionist talk. She said a lot of things that affirmed things I’d either thought or read about. Plus, it was interesting to get some recipe ideas of things that will be easy for us to make at home.

I also had a Google Hangout date with some of my girl friends from New York (and formerly New York) this week. It’s so nice to be able to put some time aside once a month to catch up with everyone. I can’t wait to see a few of them at my shower in a couple weeks!

31weeks

How far along? 31 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +16.2 lbs; Well, I pretty much ate my weight in candy this week, thanks to Halloween candy in the office and expected to put on like 5 lbs. I’m not really sure how I gained nothing in a week.
Maternity clothes? Yup, I’m wearing them.
Stretch marks? Still none. Hoping it stays this way, but my stomach has gotten itchy in the last week, mostly just below my belly button. We’ll see what happens. My mom told me today that she didn’t get stretch marks until after her babies were born. I told her just because you couldn’t see them doesn’t mean they weren’t there. :)
Sleep? Most nights I sleep all the way through the night, just like normal. I may wake halfway up to turn completely from one side to the other, but I don’t feel like I fully wake up. Then there are the charley horses and, as of last night, I believe I’m feeling some Braxton Hicks. In fact, I think they woke me up twice last night…so, that’s new.
Best moment this week? We had our 30 week appointment this week. The baby’s heartbeat was good at 136 and I measured right on track at 30cm. It’s always nice to go to the doctor and hear all is going well. Oh, she said my weight gain “is great,” which was a nice feeling. People keep telling me how tiny I am or that I don’t look any different, which I know is totally meant as a compliment, but it has made me nervous that I’m not gaining enough. According to the doctor, I’m doing just fine, which made me feel better about it.
Miss Anything? Not this week!
Movement? Yup! Lots of it, which I love. Last week my ribs were a bid sore, but this week I officially felt my first rib kicks. Nothing too sharp. Let’s hope it stays that way!
Food cravings? Still no strong cravings. Pretty much the opposite still.
Anything making you nauseous? Nope.
Symptoms? Holding strong with my old friends heartburn and acid reflux. The pain in my right side is still there, but hasn’t been as intense. Still having charley horses. I guess Braxton Hicks is a new one? Does that count as a symptom?
Gender Prediction? Still no, but everyone around me seems to think it’s a boy.
Belly Button in or out? I feel like it wants to be out. And it isn’t entirely in anymore, but it’s also not out. It’s indecisive…like my appetite.
Wedding rings on or off? On.
Mood? Just felt busy this week. Lots of work to get done – as there always is in Q4.
Looking forward to? I’m having dinner with a bunch of ladies I met at my last Bump Club dinner on Tuesday. It should be nice to get to know some other preggos who are going to have babies right around when I do.

I’m also in the process of making a stuffed owl for baby. I’m just about done with it and I’m looking forward to having another project done! Plus, I like owls and it’s super cool.
Now some words from Dad: HOOTY HOOO!!!!! If you can’t tell, I’m also excited for HOOT THE OWL (Name really tbd, but I’m going with “HOOT” for now) to be done. I’m really enjoying watching Melissa knit/craft these cool projects for Mini Mitch. With each one that is done, it equals another thing that will fill the baby’s room and give it a little character. Aside from the 30-week appointment, and the owl project, everything else has been pretty status quo the past 7 days. This coming week will be the week we finally get things pretty organized in Mini Mitch’s room-to-be. We have a dresser scheduled for delivery next Sunday, so we’ll be spending a few hours organizing the bedroom and really getting set for our visitors coming in for the baby shower in a few weeks. Thanks be to the man upstairs for a pleasant 31st week of pregnancy! :)

Leave a Reply

