35 Weeks

We had a nice relaxing week this week, but still had a lot going on. It was a two day work week for me and my office was closed Wednesday to Friday for Thanksgiving. On Tuesday we had our 34 week appointment. I measured 34cm, so right on track and the baby’s heart rate was the same as it was last appointment at 136. I just keep wondering how big the baby is or is going to be. Given that I was long and how tall Chris is, I feel like it has to be long. We’ll see!

On Thursday, we went out to the suburbs to spend Thanksgiving with family. It was a pretty laid back day full of yummy food and football. The rest of the time off was spent just trying to get things on the to do list checked off. We ran a bunch of errands, returned some things, bought some things, cleaned some things, made some things. Today I spent most of the day making a crib sheet and changing pad cover.  A while back I found a fabric I really liked and I couldn’t find a sheet/changing pad cover combo that I really liked, so I figured, why not…I’ll make it! And now we have something I love! :)

35weeks.png

How far along? 35 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +22.2 lbs, same this week as last
Maternity clothes? Starting to feel the limits of my maternity clothes wardrobe, but still able to fit into a few pre-maternity items.
Stretch marks? Not that I can see.
Sleep? I did wake up too early a couple times this week and was wide awake. I laid awake from 5am to about 6:30 am a couple mornings ago. I just refuse to get up that early when I don’t have to! Other than that, still getting my sleep.
Best moment this week? I think for me, finishing the crib sheet and changing pad cover were my best moment of the week. It feels so good to make something that looks good and that I’m happy with! Plus, it’s something we’ll use daily.
Miss Anything? I thought of something this morning, but now I can’t remember what it was. So, I must not be missing whatever it was that much…
Movement? Yup, still feeling lots of movement. Not a lot of big kicks, more pressing out and sweeps of limbs across my belly.
Food cravings? Nope.
Anything making you nauseous? Nope.
Symptoms? Heart burn, sore back after sitting for too long, heart burn, my ribs feel like they’re on fire, heart burn. Nothing I can’t handle though. I keep wondering when I’ll get as uncomfortable as everyone says you get. I also wonder what that discomfort feels like – maybe I’m feeling it, but I’m somewhat unaware? I asked a friend about her experience this weekend and she said she thinks I just deal with discomfort better than a lot of people. Maybe, maybe not. I’m starting to get really interested in how I’m going to handle labor pain.
Gender Prediction? I still don’t have any feelings one way or another. Lots of people thinking it’s a girl lately.
Belly Button in or out? Still pretty flat.
Wedding rings on or off? Still on.
Mood? Expectant. Lots of wondering about what’s to come.
Looking forward to? I’ve been thinking a lot about when we need to get the car seat put into the car and when I need to get a bag packed. Looking forward to have these last few things checked off the list, especially since the next five weeks are just going to FLY by. Between work being busy right now and the holidays, I know it’s all going to be here before we know it!
Now some words from Dad: Hi, everyone! As usual, Melissa provided a great summary of our week above. In addition to her gems, I just wanted to point out that my intramural volleyball team won this week and I went 3-0 in football this weekend :) I’m getting pretty excited for our family’s special day to come. Until then, I’m savoring every last bit of Melissa’s pregnancy. As a dad I think one of the harder things for me has been to soak in every ounce of the pregnancy experience without sacrificing too much of my routine. For instance, I have been choosing to not go to the gym so I can spend more time helping out around the house/being with Melissa. A month of that, plus visits from out of towners and holidays, and whoa! I realized this weekend I have gained 10 pounds since the marathon in October. So that said, I’ve been trying to start being cognizant of striking a balance between being there for Melissa and reserving some time for myself. I’m sure this equation will be so much more difficult once Mini Mitch arrives, but hopefully thinking about it now will help me better prepare for it in the future. If anyone has any tips for us on family/me-time balance, let us know!! And thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

