38 Weeks

38weeks2

This week we had our 37 Week appointment along with an ultrasound to check on baby. Baby weighs 6 lbs 14 oz, give or take a pound either way. They couldn’t tell me how long he or she is, and it was harder to see things because the baby is so much bigger and the bones are more calcified. You can only see one smushed part of the body at a time. She could tell that the fluid level looked good and that baby has hair. The heartbeat was 140 and my fundal height was 36.5cm. The ultrasound was done at 37 weeks and 1 day, but they said the baby was measuring 36w3d. Honestly, that isn’t surprising to me – every ultrasound we’ve had (3 now), baby has measured consistently about 5 days behind and I’ve always thought my due date was early.

How far along? 38 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss? +24.4 lbs, pretty consistent with last week
Maternity clothes? Yup.
Stretch marks? Still none that I can see.
Sleep? I slept pretty poorly this week due to this cold I’ve had. This is the worst cold I can remember having in a very long time. I couldn’t breathe and was really uncomfortable and restless all week.
Best moment this week? I had a pretty laid back week because I was just trying to rest and get better. Yesterday we went to brunch with some friends because one of said friends is moving, so it was bittersweet, but it was fun to hang out with everyone.
Miss Anything? Nope, not really.
Movement? Yup, still moving around, but kicking less because it’s tighter in there. Feels like more constricted movements and rolls. Also, hiccups, lots of hiccups.
Food cravings? Been eating lots of ice cream lately, but I’d call that one of my typical phases more than I’d call it a craving. It isn’t something I have to have at all costs or anything.
Anything making you nauseous? Still no.
Symptoms? My heartburn seems to have actually subsided a little bit this last week. It’s still there sometimes, but it hasn’t been nearly as severe or often, which is awesome. I’ve still been having Braxton Hicks this week. I don’t expect that to change until the baby comes.
Gender Prediction? Chris is still set on girl. I think I’m taking boy just so we have our bases covered.
Belly Button in or out? Same as it has been. Pretty flat.
Wedding rings on or off? Still on. Same.
Mood? Sick and wanting to get better…which could also be confused with lazy…
Looking forward to? Having my Christmas shopping done…I have yet to start it…
Now some words from Dad: Helllooooooooo everyone! This week was pretty mellow compared to last week. I’ve been maximizing Christmas music listening, and I have more shopping done than wifey :) My two highlights of the week were brunch yesterday, along with having a good friend over last night. Saturday was filled with laughs, which help maintain sanity during the cold winter days! I’m really looking forward to welcoming Mini Mitch into the world. Until then, I’ll be enjoying these last couple of weeks as a twosome and hoping Melissa’s cold subsides. The wakeful nights this past week have been kind of a preview of things to come, so I could use a couple more good nights of rest before we’re waking up to a little one full of demands. That said, I am super excited for the holidays and what’s to come. Walking around Target this weekend I saw a bunch of infant/toddler clothes, and I can’t wait to be bundling up Mini Mitch in some cute threads :D Until next week, Merry Christmas y’all!

Leave a Reply

